My Bloody Valentine… in VA!

by

my bloody valentine

Anyone who knows me probably knows that my love for My Bloody Valentine is the closest I’ll get to being obsessed for a band. I was surprised that they rebanded for the first time since 1997, and now they’re coming to Richmond, Virginia?!

For anyone who hasn’t heard MBV, they perfected shoegaze and the mastery of introvert noise. Their style of guitar drowns you into an ocean of noise, with chords constantly going in and out of tune as Kevin Shields takes advantage of the Jazzmaster’s long tremolo arm while strumming. Their vocals blend with instrumentals and only give you a glimpse of their lyrical content, which contain sometimes nonsensical phrases that makes you subconsciously question what you just heard; in the song Suisfine, Shields interchangeably chants “Sue is fine” and “suicide.” MBV is known for their unique use of effects to create a ‘wall of noise’ and it’s also been said that they experiment with the actual guitar itself to further establish a unique tone. MBV celebrates uncertainty, with songs that often put you at unease with an almost nihilistic sensibility. Loveless still proves to be my favorite album from any band. If you love bands like Deerhunter, The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Beach House, Asobi Seksu, or A Place to Bury Strangers, then you won’t want to miss this show. They’ll be at The National in Richmond, VA on July 30. Maybe I’ll see you there.

Sources: The National

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “My Bloody Valentine… in VA!”

  1. Joe Ruckert Says:

    ill be there

  2. Nick Towers Says:

    Arrrgh! I think tickets are sold out!

  3. timhstuff Says:

    I got my ticks too

Leave a Reply

