Stuff’s $20 Box of Comics

by

I need to accomplish a goal to have a little more money. The only way I saw to do this was to slim down my comic purchases to around 20 bucks. I really think I got it narrowed down enough and I’d like to share my picks for each week on here and maybe stir some feedback in the comments section. I’m only one year into my new hobby so I’ve mainly exposed myself to Marvel and some other publishers comics that the local comic shop, Velocity in Richmond VA, was buzzing about. So without further explanation this is Stuff’s $20 Box of Comics.

Amazing Spider-Man Annual #36 $3.99

-Peter Parker is in for some intresting new changes with his Aunt May marrying his long time nemesis, J. Jonah Jameson’s father, and a old foe returns. A must for spidey fans.

Dark X-Men #1 $3.99

-I have no idea what all this Dark Reign stuff is turning into but if it’s as cool as this cover looks then I’m down for it. This comic is set to cover each of the members of the Dark X-Men and how they joined the team. The first two issues cover Emma Frost, Mimic, Cloak & Dagger, Daken, Weapon X and Dark Beast. Exciting.

Ms. Marvel #41 $2.99

-Looks like no one likes the new Ms. Marvel as Moonstone is having trouble not only with Deadpool, but the New Avengers (including the old Ms. Marvel, Carol Danvers, keep up!) are preparing to go after her in full force as the lead up to one of the many of this summers Marvel events, War of the Marvels.

No Hero #6 $3.99

-With this being the second to last issue No Hero certainly is wrapping up quick but hopefully won’t leave too many loose ends. I don’t know much about this issue myself but you can head on over to warrenellis.com where he has a five page preview so you can see for yourself if its worth it or not!

X-Men Legacy #226 $2.99

-Following the many things that have happened in X-Men Legacy, we see Rogue, Gambit and Danger attempting to go to San Francisco to meet up with the rest of the X-Men that have relocated there. When they get there they see that Norman Osborn has come down hard on San Francisco as the newly established home for mutants is forced to choose sides between the X-Men and Osborn’s Dark Avengers and Dark X-Men. Marvel is certainly gloomy these days.

Lets see… For this week the total damage for me was; $17.95! Awesome, and the remaining $2.05 will be used for comic book sleeves and backs to protect my investments when they are buried with me.

Here are some comics coming out that I thought were interesting and would probably buy if I had the money: Asterios Polyp, B.P.R.D. 1947 #1, The Mangalicious Tick #1 (the Tick, in Manga form, lols assuredly to be located within), Proof Volume 3: Thunderbirds are Go! (I love proof, pick this up and you will too!), and War of Kings Warriors #1.

Or course visit your local comic shop for these great titles, and if you are a resident of Richmond Virginia or live around there stop by Velocity comics and get yourself set up with a box! People who have a box get 10% off their comic purchases, you’d be stupid not to do it.

That’s it for this week’s picks, I know I’m going to have an eventful reading day tomorrow. But are you? Don’t like my picks, have picks you think others would like? Post up in the comments! You have an opinion too, why not share it with us?! Stuff’s $20 Box of Comics will try to happen Monday/Tuesday of every week to help you keep your wallet nice and fat without cutting off all of your comics on Wednesday. Because comics need love too.

Sources: Facebook app Comic Books Beta, Marvel.com, AvatarPress.com, and WarrenEllis.com.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

